Germans cheer at the qualification for the New Year‘s Ski Jumping Event

Nine out of twelve German skijumpers have managed to qualify for the New Year‘s Ski Jumping Event.

10.000 spectators saw a qualification that took place under perfect conditions. Karl Geiger who had already been on the podium at the first competition of the 68th Four Hill Tournament, was especially happy with the way the day turned out: He won the qualification and was later handed over the winner‘s cheque by Anton Speer, head of the district of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. The second place was taken by Philipp Aschenwald (Austria), followed by Ryoyu Kobayashi (Japan, winner of the previous New Year‘s Ski Jumping Event) and Peter Prevc who shared the third rank. 

Markus Eisenbichler (5th) showed a really strong performance too, same as Philipp Raimund (28th). The other German eagles followed on ranks 12 (Stephan Leyhe), 13 (Constantin Schmid), 26 (Pius Paschke), 35 (Luca Roth) and 50 (Moritz Baer). Local jumper Kilian Maerkl unfortunately did not make it to the competition starting tomorrow at 2 pm. There are still tickets available on spot.

Dec 31, 2019

Presenting Sponsor Vierschanzentournee
Hauptsponsoren Bauhaus
Liqui Moly
FIS Sponsoren FIS